West Cornwall Evening League Challenge

MDEL v WPEL Annual Challenge Match 

After 1996 the match was discontinued but began again in 2014

Previous Winners
1988 Troon 2014 Mt Hawke & Porthtowan
1989 Madron 2015 Rosudgeon
1990 Madron 2016 St Ives
1991 Ludgvan 2017 Hayle
1992 Goldsithney 2018 Helston
1993 Paul 2019 St Just
1994 Halsetown 2020 No Competition - Covid
1995   2021 Mt Hawke v St Just not played
1996 Halsetown 2022 Gulval
    2023 St Just

Special Challenge Match Rules

No Players are permitted to play in the Challenge Final that have not previously appeared for their team in an MDEL or WPEL league match during the current season.

No bowler may bowl more than 20% of the available overs, i.e. 4 overs, in the match.

A minimum of 10 overs per side shall constitute a match.

There shall be no reduction in overs once the match has started.

Batsmen to retire after scoring 30, but may return after all other batsmen are dismissed.

No more than TWO County Senior players can play, no age limit, they must not bowl at all or bat higher than number six.

For a definition, a County Senior Player is one who plays in the Premier League or County Division One and has played THREE senior matches in that season.

Any player Under 19 years old on the 1 May of the current season is NOT classed as a Premier or County 1 Player.

There is no limitation on the number of players from Division 2 & below providing they have previously played in an MDEL or WPEL fixture for their club during the current season

Challenge Matches

2023 Penzance - St Just 156-7 (N Stanleick 52no, N Stephens 29, S Harvey 20; B Allen 3-23) beat Constantine 151 (19.5) (S Kellow 93; N Stanleick 3-36) by five runs. Player of the Match Neil Stanleick (St Just)

 St Just win the West Cornwall Evening Challenge

2022  Helston -  Gulval 161-6 (A Ralph 34 ret no, P Barnes 30 ret no, T Redfern 28, L May 21; W Ghosh 2-24, R Oliver 2-32) beat Sea View Old Boys 119-7 (I Swann 30 ret no; L May 2-24, J Batten 2-33) by 42 runs. Player of the match - Luke May.    Scorecard

Gulval win the Evening League Challenge Match


2021 Mount Hawke & Porthtowan should have played St Just but due to Covid delays it ran out of time.


2020 Covid - no Evening Competitions


2019   Penzance – Mount Ambrose 124-9 (T Rodwell 34no, C Escott 33no; Josh Perry 2-7, S Harvey 2-15) lost to St Just  126-5 (16.3 ovs) (T Stephan 32 ret, J Nicholls 30 ret, S Meagor 25; D Hewitt 3-24) by five wickets. Man of the Match Dave Hewett  Scorecard


2018       Camborne – St Ives 110-7 (A McKenna 30 ret no, D Marsh 30 ret no, A Otto 21; D Gray 3-16, C Woolnough 2-22) lost to Helston 111-6 (18.1 ovs) (C Woolnough 31 ret no; T Excell 22no; S Morris 3-24, J Shaw 2-22) by four wickets     Scorecard


2017    Penzance – St Gluvias 125-6 (M Ambrose 56, J Hockin 33no; M Lello 2-14, J Bennett 2-31) lost to Hayle 128-2 (J Harvey 33, N Smitheram 29no, W Trenoweth 23no, T Hearle 23) by eight  wickets  Scorecard


2016 Camborne – St Ives 104 (D Marsh 44; B Tann 3-11, K Webber 3-20, A Lean 2-19) beat  Stithians 64(G Ireson 20no; J Shaw 3-6, A Otto 3-11, A Rowe 2-7) by 40 runs Player of the Match Dave  Marsh St Ives  Scorecard

St Ives won the battle of the West Cornwall Evening League Champions with a 40 run win at a sunlit Roskear ground at Camborne. Having been put in the St Ives innings was built on a good innings from opener Dave Marsh who hit seven boundaries before being dismissed for 44 in the 15th over. Andre Otto, George Day and Peter Holgate also got into double figures. Ben Tann wrapped up the innings off the first ball of the final over to end with three for 11. Kieran Webber took three for 20.  Jason Shaw (3-6) and Andre Otto (3-16) wrecked the top of the Stithians inning as they lost their first five wickets for 15 runs. Graham Ireson made an unbeaten 20 but they were all out at the beginning of the 16th over for 64 to lose by 40 runs.


2015   Penzance – Rosudgeon 173 – 3  (J Stevens, 90no, T Polglase 34, M Skewes 21) beat Mt Hawke and Porthtowan 98 – 7 (R Chynoweth 16, M Thomas 15; C Harrison  2 – 20, T Polglase 2 -14)  by 75 runs. The Man of the Match Award went to John Stevens for his 90no and two catches.  The MOM adjudicators were Umpires Derek Angove and Geoff Preece.  Scorecard


2014          The Annual competition was reintroduced.

Camborne – Mt Hawke & Porthtowan 116-5 (S Martin 29, S Cloke 26no; A Paroissen 2-17) beat St Ives 76 (A Otto 18, G Day 14; B Pascoe 3-10, R Thomas 3-28). Mt Hawke & Porthtowan beat by 40 runs.

Man of the Match adjudicated by Peter George (WPEL Secretary) was Ryan Thomas (Mt Hawke & Porthtowan )