CCL Week 1 Review - Sat 13 April

Postponements & Cancellations are continually updated live at  Reschedules


Fixtures this week          Full Scorecards           Official Tables            Previous Reports

Saturday 53 Matches    0 Completed    19 Cancelled   34 Rescheduled (with 7 days' notice)


Following the cancellation of the Premier T20 Kernow Crash competition all 53 scheduled League games have been confirmed as postponed with at least seven days' notice or cancelled. The game at Launceston was the 18th  to be cancelled, on the eve of the season. Added to that Mount Ambrose and Truro seconds have not agreed a hoped-for rescheduled date so they have agreed to share the points.

 The cancellation of the early season Premier T20 Kernow Crash followed a consultation the  Cornwall Cricket League Management Committee had with all ten Premier Division clubs. The LMC agreed to cancel this year’s competition, which was due to be played over the first four Saturdays of the season 13 April – 4 May.  

 It follows the wettest winter on record with double average rainfall and the forecast for April continuing unsettled. In a statement, the League said “ This is placing our volunteer groundskeepers, on whom we rely to get games on and to prepare pitches to the high standard expected by modern-day club cricketers,  in an impossible situation which is worsening by the day. It will allow groundskeepers to concentrate on preparing for Premier Division cricket commencing on  May 11”.

 The amount of rainfall in recent months left one experienced groundskeeper saying  “In 30-plus years the ground has never been as bad as this. It is far too soft for any cylinder mower or light, medium, or heavy rollers. There is no prospect at present of using those in April. Conditions are getting worse and worse”.

 By making the decision the League hopes to take the pressure off volunteer groundskeepers who currently need at least 2-3 weeks of drying winds and sunshine, and little or no rain, to get their waterlogged squares and outfields playable and up to the required standard. Some Premier Division teams have made it clear to the CCL that they prefer not to play on Sundays. It is hoped that conditions might improve enough for some pre-season 50-over friendlies on a couple of Saturdays before the Premier Division commences on Saturday 11 May.

As usual, the other divisions of the League, including County Division One,  can mutually agree to reschedule games for any Sundays or Bank Holidays throughout the season providing seven days' notice is given. If not mutually agreed cancelled fixtures will be awarded six points each.

Following a run of four very dry Aprils, 2023 saw only five of 62 opening-day fixtures played. Following the exceptionally wet winter 2024 is set to be even worse.

The LMC is concerned at the recent trend and feels that this is unsustainable in the long run putting unnecessary strain on grounds and grounds volunteers, and inconsistent rearrangements could undermine the integrity of divisions.  


As a result, a formal e-postal ballot (League Rule 1.4.8) has been published with clubs having until 30th April to determine the League format for 2025.

All clubs are being asked to choose their preferred options:


Option 1The Status Quo – 12 Teams (except Premier Division) - 22 Saturdays starting mid-April and finishing in September.


Option 210 Team Divisions - across the board.

The season would start two weeks later and finish two weeks earlier. The potential for limited rearrangements may be considered at the 2025 AGM utilising the last Saturday in August and the first Saturday in September. If a 100% wash-out, or possibly a pre-set high percentage of fixtures are cancelled,  on any Saturday during the season the entire block of fixtures that have not started could be moved by the League to one or both of the spare end-of-season Saturdays.


For clubs able to do so pre-season friendlies can be arranged for mid-April to maintain match incomes.


If 10 Team Divisions the realignment of teams will ensure champion teams in 2024 move up the League ladder. In any event it will be in the interest of clubs to finish as high as possible.


If 10 Team Divisions Tier 2 will contain Divisions 2, 3 & 4 in the renumbered new structure.


Option 3 – Remain as a 12-team league (except Premier Division) but include Bank Holidays enabling the start of the season to be delayed until the last Saturday in April. Bank Holidays will return to being automatically scheduled match days.


The option with the majority of votes will apply for the 2025 season and will be announced as per Rule 1.4.8 (x) within seven days of the close of the ballot.


Cornwall County Cricket Club’s competitive season begins on Sunday 28 April with the visit of Devon for two NCCA T20 games with the fixture now switched from Werrington to St Just. Werrington have yet to be able to do any work on their square. The following Sunday Dorset visit Wadebridge and the next day, Bank Holiday Monday, Cornwall travel to Salisbury to play Wiltshire.



Saturday 13 April

Bond Timber Cornwall Cricket League

Premier T20 Kernow Crash – Competition Cancelled


Divisions - 35 matches postponed in addition to  these 19 cancellations:


Live Updates at Reschedules


County Division 1

Hayle v Mullion - cancelled; six points each.


Division 2 East

Callington 2 v South Petherwin - cancelled; six points each.


Division 2 West 

Stithians v Ludgvan - cancelled; six points each.

St Ives v Mt Hawke & Porthtowan - cancelled; six points each.

St Just 2 v Redruth 2 - cancelled; six points each.

Veryan v Hayle 2 - cancelled; six points each.


Division 3 East

Launceston v Newquay 2 - cancelled; six points each.

St Austell 3 v Tideford - cancelled; six points each.


Division 3 West

Mount Ambrose v Truro - cancelled; six points each.

St Just 3 v Barripper- cancelled; six points each.


Division 4 East

Grampound Rd 3 v Launceston 2 - cancelled; six points each.

Pencarrow v Newquay 3 - cancelled; six points each.


Division 4 West 

Crofty Holman v St Newlyn East - cancelled; six points each.

Gerrans v Mount Ambrose 2 - cancelled; six points each.

Leedstown v St Day - cancelled; six points each.

Praze v Rosudgeon- cancelled; six points each.


Division 5 East 

South Petherwin 2 v Wadebridge 3 - cancelled; six points each.


Division 5 West  (13:30)

Barripper 2 v Helston 3 - cancelled; six points each.

Mt Hawke & Porthtowan 2 v Falmouth 3 - cancelled; six points each.




Michael Weeks BEM

Michael Weeks BEM

Cornwall Cricket League Hon. Secretary