Hayle Seconds win the Andrew Cup

Hayle Seconds
© Michael Weeks

Andrew Cup

Mt Ambrose - Hayle II 135-8 (J Netherway 27, M Smitheram 24, J Harvey 15; S Richards 3-10, D Lynes 2-13, J Tunnicliffe 2-34) beat Praze 115 (18.4) (D Lynes 50, G Rowe 18; P Glanville 4-17, L Bennett 2-11) by 20 runs.  Scorecard

The ‘Bunny Williams’ Player of the Match Paul Glanville

Hayle Seconds won the Andrew Cup for the second time with a 20 runs victory over Praze in an entertaining final at Mount Ambrose Cricket Club. Their previous victory was against Mylor in 1996. Praze won in 1983 and lost in 2014, both against Troon.

Hayle won the toss and elected to bat in overcast and significantly cooler conditions than in previous days. Damian Lynes made early strikes to remove Josh Curnow and Ty Hendra with 23 on the board in the seventh over. After  Jamie Harvey (15) was dismissed former Troon player Shane Richards removed Tony Riggall and Lee Bennet to leave Hayle with work to do at 59-5 off 12 overs. After opener Joe Netherway (27) became a third Richards victim (3-10) crucially the last four overs produced 45 runs. That was thanks to Mark Smitheram who hit two sixes in his 24 before being caught off the final ball. Paul Glanville also hit a maximum in a final over that produced 15 runs.

Needing 136 Praze had a poor start losing Aaron Futcher run out followed by Joe Tunnicliffe and Shane Richards at 10-3 in the third over. Grant Rowe and Damian Lynes rebuilt to add 58 for the fourth wicket before Rowe was dismissed by Paul Glanville for 18. Lynes hit 3 sixes and 5 fours in his 50 off 35 balls before also falling to Glanville who was named the ‘Bunny Wiliams’ player of the match for his 4-17 from four overs. Ben Martin and Sam Nettle both got double figures to add 23 for the last wicket but Martin was dismissed by Lee Bennet with 21 required off ten balls.

Ethan Bennet receives the Andrew Cup from League President Vic Hassell
© Michael Weeks The Bunny Williams Player of the Match - Paul Glanville.
Umpires Mike Kent & Daryl Pentecost