Sea View Old Boys win the MDEL

2022 MDEL Champions Sea View Old Boys

Mining Division Evening League Homepage 


Mining Division Evening League Final      Scorecard


Falmouth – Falmouth 88 (G Page 32no, A Westgarth 17; P Stevens 3-22, I Swann 2-10, W Ghosh 2-22) lost to Seaview Old Boys 91-2 (S Bailey 30 ret no, M Stevens 26no, D Stevens 20no) by eight wickets.


Sea View Old Boys won the MDEL ‘Michael Evans Trophy’  for the first time having previously lost to Helston in the 2018 Final. The game at Falmouth’s Hine Downing Oval, on a balmy evening, got off to a dramatic start with Wribhu Ghosh striking twice in the first over to remove Falmouth openers, Ashley Searle and Daniel Hadley. With Al Johnson run out and  Mark Averiss caught off Isaac Swan Falmouth found themselves 8-4 off two overs. Glen Page held the rest of the innings together with 32 and Falmouth Town Manager Andy Westgarth (17) was the only other to make double figures in the 88 all out with two overs remaining. Paul Stevens took 3-22.

Sea View lost two wickets for 13 but Mark Stevens (26no), Player of the Match Simon Bailey (30 ret no) and skipper Damien Stevens (20 no) secured victory by eight wickets with over five overs to spare amidst jubilant celebrations. Long-serving Falmouth CC Team Manager David Richardson made the presentations.

© Michael Weeks Sea View Old Boys skipper Damien Stevens receives the Michael Evans Trophy from Falmoth CC's David Richardson.
Player of the Match Simon Bailey