Mount Hawke & Porthtowan win the Mining Division Evening League.

Mount Hawke & Porthtowan MDEL winners 2021
© Michael Weeks

Competition Homepage/History

The Mining Division Evening League Final - for the Michael Evans Cup.

Mount Hawke and Porthtowan won the MDEL for an eighth time with a three wicket win over Mullion at Helston, but with only three balls to spare. Mullion reached 97-7 thanks to Joe Casley (25no) hitting 17 off the last over. Tristan Askew (22) and Mat Thomas (23) set up the Mount Hawke & Porthtowan response before Player of the Match Ben Pascoe, hit 28 off 21 balls. He was dismissed with eight needed off ten balls but skipper Rob Brandreth got his side over the line off the third ball of the last over.


Helston - Mullion 97-7 (J Casley 25, M Bray 15; T Soloman 2-25) lost to

Mount Hawke & Porthtowan 98-7 (19.3) (B Pascoe 28, M Thomas 23, T Askew 22; H Bray 3-19, T Cockings 2-12) by three wickets.

© Michael Weeks Ben Pascoe, MDEL Player of the Match


Helston CC President Peter Morris made the presentations.


A busy night at Helston. Across the road history as Helston AFC took on Saltash in the Western League in a one all draw.