Callington win the Hawkey Cup

2024 Hawkey Cup winner Callington.
© Michael Weeks


St Austell - Callington 180-5 (L Lindsay 74, M Waller 69; C Wilson 2-25, J Turpin 2-33) beat Wadebridge 176-3  (K Renecke 99no, M Rowe 31, K Snell 23no; H Sawyers 1-23, M Waller 1-29, A Libby 1-36) by four runs. Player of the Match – Kevin Renecke.

© Michael Weeks Callington skipper Luke Brenton receives from League President Vic Hassell

In one of the great Hawkey Cup Finals Callington beat Wadebridge in a thriller on a balmy evening at St Austell by just four runs. It was a night of records with the aggregate of 356 runs beating the previous record of 344 in the 2003 Final between Newquay and Menheniot. The highest individual score in a final was also achieved with Kevin Renecke’s unbeaten 99 surpassing Tim Walton’s 82 in 2003.

After electing to bat Callington lost a couple of early wickets with James Turpin removing Aidan Libby and Graham Wagg with only 14 on the board in the third over. Kian Burns was stumped off Matt Robins for 15 and at the halfway mark Callington were 61-3. The innings was transformed by a fourth wicket partnership of 139 with Max Waller hitting 69 off 47 balls and Liam Lindsay 74 off 42 balls. Both hit three sixes. The 17th over saw a crucial 24 runs which, in hindsight,  was to prove the defining over of the match.

In the reply, Harry Sawyers picked up the key wicket of James Turpin (13) and Matt Robins was held off Waller for five at 62-2 in the seventh over. With Renecke batting well at halfway, it was 86-2 and ‘game on’. Matt Rowe was caught off Libby for a lively 31 at 113 in the 14th over. Kelvin Snell (23no) and Renecke reduced it to 26 required off two overs and 13 off the last, bowled by Ben Ellis.

Eight runs came off the first five balls leaving the left-hander on strike on 99 and a four was required to tie the match and for a ‘Super Over’ to come into play. To his dismay, he missed the ball to spark scenes of delight by the Callington players and supporters and leaving Renecke with the consolation of being named player of the match.

The  66th Final and the 31st successive for sponsors Clive Rosevear Insurance.

Competition Wins – Callington 14, St Austell 11. Gorran 10, Werrington 9.

Most Finals - Callington 23, St Austell 16, Grampound Road 15, Werrington 14, Wadebridge 13

Umpires - Chris Crabb & Nigel Harrington

Scorers - Kingsley Mortimore & Charlie Ellis

Player of the Match Adjudicator - Dave Higman

© Michael Weeks Player of the Match Kevin Renecke


Michael Weeks BEM

Michael Weeks BEM

Cornwall Cricket League Hon. Secretary