Penzance win the Premier T20 Kernow Crash

© Michael Weeks

Kernow Premier T20 Crash  Homepage/History


Sunday 20 August 2023

Premier T20 Kernow Crash Finals Day at Grampound Road CC

Semi-Finals: Wadebridge 156-6 (J Turpin 58, M Butler 31, M Robins 23; M Jenkin 4-20) beat Hayle 128 (19.5) (S Mycock 52; M Lawrence 4-10) by 28 runs.   Scorecard    YouTube  Highlights Stream


Redruth 91-9 (S Amonkar 41; J Ludlam 4-16) lost to  Penzance 92-4 (11.5) (B Seabrook 56) by six wickets.   Scorecard  YouTube  SF & Final Stream


The Final: Wadebridge 181-7 (M Robins 81no, J Turpin 68; G Smith 2-24, A Libby 2-39) lost to Penzance 185-6 (20)  (B Seabrook 90, D Lello 30, G Smith 25; C Rogers 2-25, M Lawrence 2-31) by four wickets off the final ball.

Player of the Final – Ben Seabrook.      Scorecard    YouTube  SF & Final Stream


On a thankfully warm and sunny day at Grampound Road, Penzance won the most remarkable of T2O Kernow Crash Finals.  They were victorious in the competition for the second time, after the inaugural 2019 success.

It was a match that, remarkably,  saw no fewer than 24 sixes with a smashed car windscreen and a pavilion window both suffering in the carnage.

Wadebridge hit 181-7 but Penzance kept up with the required run rate to level the scores with three balls remaining. That would have been enough to win on fewer wickets lost but they secured victory with a final ball boundary from Jonny Ludlam.

Wadebridge began the final with an amazing six-over powerplay to have 80 on the board without loss. James Turpin hit 6 sixes in his 68 off 35 balls before being the first to fall in the tenth over at 120. Penzance fought back with Greg Smith and Andrew Libby sharing four wickets but Matt Robins ended on 81 not out that included 3 sixes and 9 fours.

The Penzance reply was equally as explosive as 58 came off the first four overs before Christian Purchase (19) was caught behind off Matt Lawrence. Ben Seabrook went on to dominate and was named Player of the Final for his 90 off 52 balls that included a remarkable 9 sixes. He was dismissed with 27 off three overs required but Smith made a valuable 25 to all but see his side over the line. After seven were required off the final over he levelled the scores before being caught by Kelvin Snell. Earlier Dan Lello, on return from injury, hit 30 off 22 balls to keep the momentum going.

In the morning semi-final, Wadebridge made 156-6 against Hayle. The top three, Turpin (58), Robins (23) and Matt Butler (31) got the bulk of the runs as they were 118-1 at one stage before Max Jenkin picked up four wickets. Sam Mycock made 52 in Hayle’s reply but after he was fourth out at 98 the innings fell away to 128 all out, off the penultimate ball, with Lawrence taking 4-10 from his four overs.

In the second semi-final, Redruth struggled to 91-9 against Penzance. Opener Sumiran Amonkar made 41 off 58 balls before being seventh out. Ludlam took 4-16. Penzance reached the target inside 12 overs for the loss of four wickets. Seabrook made 56 off 32 balls before being bowled by Ellis Whiteford at 74-2.


© Michael Weeks League President Vic Hassell presents to Penzance skipper Greg Smith.
© Michael Weeks Player of the Final - Ben Seabrook



Matt Robins 81no




© Michael Weeks 2023 Premier T20 Kernow Crash Winners - Penzance CC
Michael Weeks BEM

Michael Weeks BEM

Cornwall Cricket League Hon. Secretary