Wadebridge win the Premier T20 Kernow Crash

© Michael Weeks

Sunday 3 July

Premier T20 Kernow Crash Finals Day at Grampound Road CC

Semi-Finals: Penzance 135-5 (J Paull 43no, C Purchase 34; K Snell 2-17) lost to Wadebridge 136-7 (18.3) (J Turpin 38, C Wilson 32, S Richards 21no; A Usman 3-20, G Lawrence 2-20) by three wickets.   Scorecard

St Just 178-6 (N Curnow 56, M Waller 54, S Kevern 43no; J Carter 3-29) beat  St Austell 140-8 (A Bone 37, J Leadbeater 29; M Waller 2-25, C Edirisinghe 2-26) by 38 runs.   Scorecard

The Final: Wadebridge 185-7 (M Robins 99, K Renecke 26, J Turpin 23, C Wilson 23; M Waller 2-29, P Nicholas 2-38) beat St Just 89 (C Edirisinghe 21; C Wilson 3-12, C Rogers 2-11, K Snell 2-24) by 96 runs. Player of the Final – Matt Robins.   Scorecard

A superb innings of 99 by former county captain Matt Robins paved the way for a comprehensive Kernow Crash Final win for Wadebridge over St Just by 96 runs. Robins dominated the innings hitting 5 sixes and 12 fours off 52 balls before driving to Jacob Harvey off Max Waller with an over remaining. He got good support with James Turpin making 23 in an opening stand of 53 in six overs. Kevin Renecke and Callum Wilson also got twenties. Wilson then virtually decided the issue by removing Gareth May, Waller and Neil Curnow for 33 in the first five overs. Chamikara Edirisinghe top scored with 21 as the innings petered out to 89 all out in the 17th over.


In the morning semi-final, Wadebridge beat Penzance for the second time in 18 hours. After Christian Purchase made 34 the Penzance innings slipped from 60-1 to 75-5 but Jack Paull (43no) and Jonny Ludlam (18no) put on an unbroken 60 for the sixth wicket. That looked enough when Wadebridge lost their first five wickets for 42 and particularly when talisman Turpin was caught and bowled by Ali Usman for 38 at 85-6. However Wilson hit 32 off 24 balls and a cameo from Sam Richards (21no) , which included 2 sixes sealed the issue with nine balls and three wickets remaining.


The second semi-final saw St Just rack up 178-6 against St Austell with Curnow (56) and Waller (54) putting on 107 for the second wicket before Steve Kevern hit 43 not out. James Carter took 3-29. After the early run out of Scott Barrott for St Austell Alex Bone (37) and Jonty Leadbeater (29) got to 107-3 in the 15th over but the task was always asking too much and the innings fell away to 140-8.

© Michael Weeks Wadebridge skipper James Turpin receives from League President Vic Hassell.
© Michael Weeks Player of the Final - Matt Robins
© Anita George Kernow Crash - Runners Up - St  Just CC


© Michael Weeks Wadebridge CC - The 2022 T20 Kernow Crash winners