County Finals 2021

The traditional East v West County Finals completed the Bond Timber Cornwall Cricket League season, with the weather playing its part. In the division two final only eight overs were possible between Callington seconds and Mullion at Lanhydrock before the match was abandoned due to rain, with the trophy shared.

The division three final at Veryan was reduced from 45 to 38 overs. Matt Hewitt (45) and Jake Symons (20) put on 74 for Camborne’s first wicket before four wickets fell for eight runs, with David Bolland ending with 4-40. However, Jensen Burrell made 47 not out to get the total to 150-6. Nick Carpenter made 22  as Callington thirds were reduced to 74-8 before Jonathan Trembath made 35 to get the total to 118. Luke Fenton and Connor Vicary shared six wickets.

A full game was played at St Gluvias in the division four final where Hayle seconds reached 213-8 against Luckett. Paul Glanville opened with 42, Jamie Harvey made 38 and Liam Smitheram got 40  as seven Hayle batsmen got double figures. Adrian Berry and Steve Brown took two wickets. Andrew Hoskin held the Luckett innings together with 68 not out in their 154 all out in the 39th over. Adrian Berry made 27 and Mark Brown 20. Glanville took 4-45 and skipper Joel Cameron 3-33.

The division five final at St Stephen was postponed for 24 hours due to a wet ground. It resulted in understrength teams competing on Sunday. Stithians made 179 mainly thanks to opener Jack Mitchell with 71 and Abhishek Moryehit hit 53 before being eighth out. Andrew Cobb finished off the innings to end with 4-22. A third-wicket stand of 110 set up Liskeard’s six-wicket win with seven overs to spare. Chris Calfe made 39 and Andrew Cobb hit 3 sixes and 10 fours in his 86 not out.

At Pencarrow persistent light rain forced two interruptions in the division six final between Holsworthy seconds and Perranporth seconds. Over an hour was lost resulting in a 28 over match. Jeremy Bradley made 30 and Carl Bicknell was unbeaten on 22 in Perranporth’s 125-5. Holsworthy ended on 64-9 with Richard Foley taking 3-8. The Perranporth team featured five Under 16’s and a total of nine Under 18’s played in the match.

Division Two   Scorecard

Lanhydrock – Mullion 23-0 (8 overs) v Callington II. Rain stopped play. Match Abandoned – Trophy shared.

© Sarah Lambert Jonty Wheatley (Mullion) & Toby May (Callington) received the Division 2 Trophy from sponsor Tony Farrant (Bond Timber)
Callington seconds - Division 2 East Champions
Mullion - Division 2 West Champions

Division Three   Scorecard

Veryan – Camborne II 150-6 (J Burrell 47no, M Hewitt 45; D Bolland 4-40) beat

Callington III 116 (J Trembath 35, N Carpenter 22; C Vicary 3-23, L Fenton 3-46, A Moore 2-22) by 34 runs in a match reduced to 38 overs.

Division Three County Champions - Camborne seconds
Tony Farrant (Bond Timber) presents to Camborne Captain Nigel Endean.

Division Four   Scorecard

St Gluvias – Hayle II 213-8 (P Glanville 42, L Smitheram 40, J Harvey 36; S Brown 2-37, A Berry 2-53) beat

Luckett 154 (A Hoskin 68no, A Berry 27, M Brown 20; P Glanville 4-45, J Cameron 3-33, J Bennet 2-25) by 59 runs.

Luckett - Division 4 East Champions


Division Five   Scorecard

The Division 5 Final was postponed for 24 hours due to a wet ground.

St Stephen – Stithians II 179 (J Mitchell 71, A Morye 53; A Cobb 4-22, S Rogers 2-44) lost to

Liskeard 180-4 (A Cobb 86no, C Calfe 39; J Mitchell 2-28) by six wickets.

© Michael Weeks Liskeard - Division 5 East & County Champions
© Michael Weeks Stithians Seconds - Division 5 West Champions
© Michael Weeks St Stephen CC Chairman Richard Budge presents to Liskeard's Andrew Cobb

Division Six   Scorecard

Pencarrow – Perranporth II 125-5 (J Bradley 30, C Bicknell 22; J O Donoghue 2-8, J Snell 2-32) beat

Holsworthy II 64-9 (J O Donoghue 16; R Foley 3-8, Jamie Smeaden 2-3, B Evans 2-5, J Bradley 2-9) by 61 runs in a match reduced to 28 overs.

© Michael Weeks Perranporth Seconds - Division 6 Central & County Champions 2021


© Michael Weeks

Holsworthy Seconds - Division 6 East Champions 2021

© Michael Weeks Pencarrow's Ollie Clarke present to Perranporth skipper Johnny Smeaden.