Herefordshire v Cornwall - NCCA Trophy (2)

Rick Stein

Cornwall win by three wickets with 17 balls to spare.

NCCA Trophy

Date Time Venue Opposition Ground Result
Mon 29 May 2023 11:00 H Devon CCC Truro Won
Sun 11 Jun 2023 11:00 A Berkshire Cricket Slough Abandoned
Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:00 H Bedfordshire CCC Redruth CC Won
Sun 25 Jun 2023 11:00 A Hertfordshire CCC North Mymms CC Lost


League Table

Two late changes saw St Just's Ben Ellis called up for a debut and Penzance's Jonny Ludlam replacing Tommy Sturgess and Tim Wyatt.

Herefordshire recovered from 120-6 to be bowled out off the penultimate ball for 194. After Nick Hammond topped scored with 36. Tom Hage rallied the tail with 34 before James Rudge (18) added a useful 28 for the last wicket. Debutants Ben Ellis, a late replacement, took 2-32 and left-arm spinner Craig Johnson 1-25 from a tidy ten overs. Another late call-up, Jonny Ludlam, took 3-31 and Tom Wells 3-55.

Cornwall’s reply got off to a rocky start losing Alex Bone at 16 and Greg Smith and debutant Scott Kellow soon followed both failing to score. Christian Purchase (16) followed at 32-4. Wells and Paul Smith (31) added a valuable 79 for the fifth wicket. Wells went on to make 73 but his dismissal, and Kian Burns soon after, meant at 143-7 the game was in the balance. Skipper Scott Harvey (28no) and Jonny Ludlam (26no) secured victory in a tense finish with an unbeaten eighth-wicket stand of 55. In the other group game, Wiltshire beat Dorset at Bashley by 14 runs in their opening game. The group is wide open with Cornwall, Devon, Dorset and Herefordshire all having won one and lost one.

Eastnor – Herefordshire 194 (NA Hammond 36, TA Hage 34; JP Ludlam 3-31, TJ Wells 3-55, BA Ellis 2-32), Cornwall 198-7 (TJ Wells 73, PS Smith 31, SA Harvey 28no, JP Ludlam 26no; TA Hage 2-25, AK Russell 2-33, JW Rudge 2-37). Cornwall (2pts) beat Herefordshire by three wickets.

Originally Cornwall have made five changes for the visit to Eastnor, near Ledbury on the edge of the Malverns.

Two players are set to make county debuts.

All rounder Scott Kellow (Falmouth) and left arm spinner Craig Johnson (Redruth).

Christian Purchase, Alex Bone and Tim Wyatt also return to the side.

Missing from the last ball defeat against Dorset at Werrington are Matt Robins, Lewis Goldsworthy, James Turpin, Dan Lello and Tom Dinnis.


Herefordshire v Cornwall Trophy 13 June 2021

  • S A Harvey (Capt) (wk)
  • T R Wyatt
  • G M Smith
  • T J Wells
  • C B F Purchase
  • P S Smith
  • T G Sturgess
  • S P Kellow
  • A W Bone
  • K J Burns
  • C M Johnson
  • 12th man: C J Kent

Cornwall: Scott Harvey (Capt) (wk) (Truro), Greg Smith (Penzance), Tom Wells (Penzance), Christian Purchase (Penzance), Paul Smith (Castle Bromwich), Tommy Sturgess (Swarkestone), Tim Wyatt (Lansdown), Kian Burns (Callington), Alex Bone (St Austell), Scott Kellow (Falmouth), Craig Johnson (Redruth). 12th Man Charlie Kent (Trur