Cornwall v Devon - NCCA Championship (2)


 Cornwall v Devon NCCA Championship 1 -3 August 2021 at Truro CC 11am.

© Conrad Sutcliffe Devon's ninth wicket Ed Middleton is bowled by Craig Johnsson as their last five wickets fall for five runs.

Celebrations begin at Boscawen Park 

The match was played without any weather interruptions.

Cornwall recorded a famous NCCA Championship victory, against the odds when they beat Devon at Truro by 39 runs. After electing to bat Cornwall were reduced to 9-3 on the first morning. In a recovery Paul Smith made 59 and Matt Robins 49 to be bowled out for 206  in the 69th over. Seamer Kas Szymanski took 5-42. Devon were going well on the second morning before losing six for 36 in the 13 overs before lunch to only lead by six runs at the interval with eight wickets down. However, professional Callum Haggett, the former Kent all-rounder, hit 61 and the ninth-wicket stand of 59 with Dan Goodey secured a first-innings lead of 74 runs.

Cornwall closed the day on 148-7 after Ollie Westbury (22), Chris Gibson (30) and Robins (26) all got starts. Starting day three effectively 74-7 Cornwall survived until lunch with the last three wickets adding a crucial 112 runs. Ben Ellis (30)  and  Craig Johnson added 45 for the tenth wicket after Smith (53) and Tommy Sturgess (27) put on 59 for the eighth. Devon skipper and former Falmouth player Jamie Stephens took 5-58 to end with eight wickets in the match.

Devon were set 167 in two sessions and a minimum of 56 overs. After reaching 112-4 after tea they were bowled out six minutes into the last hour for 127 with Ellis Whiteford and Craig Johnson taking four wickets each. The last five wickets fell for just five runs in a dramatic collapse. It was a third successive Championship win over Devon (four in five) and a sixth successive three-day victory at Truro against all counties.


NCCA County Championship Western Division 2

Truro – Cornwall 206 (PS Smith 59, ML Robins 49; KB Szymanski 5-42, JA Stephens 3-24)

& 240 (PS Smith 53, CF Gibson 30, BA Ellis 30; JA Stephens 5-58),

Devon 280 (MW Thompson 71, CJ Haggett 61, JD Horler 60, AJ Small 35; EAF Whiteford 3-97)

& 127  (Target 167) (CJ Haggett 46, MW Thompson 43; CM Johnson 4-30, EAF Whiteford 4-67).

Cornwall (21) beat Devon (7) by 39 runs.


Match Scorecard  


Day 1

Cornwall win the toss and elect to bat but are reduced to 9-3 after five overs.

Scott Harvey and Matt Robins stage a recovery with a fourth wicket stand.

Lunch: Cornwall 97-5 (36.3) Robins 49, Harvey 27; Szynmanski 4-31

Tea: Cornwall 206 (68.1) Paul Smith 59, Robins 49, Harvey 27, Turpin 26; Szynmanski 5-42, Stephens 3-73

Close: Devon 119-2 (41) Horler 60, Thompson 50no; Sturgess 1-42, Robins 1-8

Devon trail by 87 runs.


Day 2

Lunch : Devon 212-8 (76) Thompson 71, Horler 60; Whiteford 22-3-65-3, Johnson 17-4-40-2.

Devon  lose 6 wickets for 36 runs in the 13 overs before lunch to lead by 6 runs.

Redruth spinners Ellis Whiteford and Craig Johnson share five wickets.

Tea: Devon 280 following a ninth wicket stand of 59, Whiteford 3-97. Cornwall 60-2 (27) to trail by 14 runs.

Close: Cornwall 148-7 (66) Paul Smith 23no - a lead of 74 runs.


Day 3

Lunch: Cornwall 240 ao Paul Smith 53; Jamie Stephens 5-58.

The last three wickets add 112 from 128-7.

Ben Ellis and  Craig Johnson add 45 for the tenth wicket after Smith and Tommy Sturgess put on 59 for the eighth.

Devon require 167 to win.


Tea Devon 95-4 (35)

After reaching 112-4 they are bowled out six minutes into  the last hour for 127 with Ellis Whiteford and Craig Johnson taking four wickets each.

Last Hour (17:33) Devon 126-9 (49)

Close (17:39) Devon 127 all out with a min of 15 overs to spare.

A third successive Championship win over Devon and a sixth successive three-day victory at Truro against all counties.

Day 3 Report courtesy Conrad Sutcliffe

© Conrad Sutcliffe Redruth's Craig Johnson - Match figures of 40-8-97-6
© Conrad Sutcliffe Redruth's Ellis Whiteford on his way to match figures of 49-4-164-7



Match Preview

Cornwall make three changes from the team that drew with Wales NC in the Championship opener at Pontarddulais with Charlie Kent, Matt Robins and James Turpin replacing Ben Twohig, Kian Burns and Scott Kellow.

Paul Smith has officially been appointed vice-captain.

Former Falmouth captain Jamie Stephens will skipper Devon. 

Jamie, the son of former Cornwall batsman and occasional captain Phil Stephens, now plays in the West of England Premier League for Taunton Deane.

Stephens Junior, who went through Devon’s youth system while living in Tavistock as a youngster, replaced ex-Somerset batsman Alex Barrow as captain at the start of the season.

Injury problems have prevented Stephens playing in every game and he sat out Devon’s rained-off match against Wales earlier this week. Matt Thompson led the side in Stephens’ absence.

Devon have made three changes to their 12-man squad for the match at Truro. In come Stephens, paceman Dan Goodey and batsman Ben Beaumont. Out go opener James Degg, injured all-rounder Matt Golding and left-arm spinner Fahad Sabir, who has been commuting from Birmingham to play for Devon this season.


O E Westbury            

C F Gibson                             

S A Harvey (Capt) (wk)                                

C J Kent

M L Robins

P S Smith                                                       

J R Turpin

T G Sturgess                                                    

E A F Whiteford                                              

B A Ellis                                

C M Johnson                          


12  J.M Brierley                                                            


Cornwall: Scott Harvey (Capt) (wk) (Truro), Oliver Westbury (Himley), Chris Gibson (Camborne), Charlie Kent (Truro), Matt Robins (Wadebridge), Paul Smith (Castle Bromwich), James Turpin (Wadebridge), Tommy Sturgess (Swarkestone), Ellis Whiteford (Redruth), Ben Ellis (St Just), Craig Johnson (Redruth). 12th Man Joel Brierley (Truro).

Devon (from): J A Stephens (Taunton Deane), M W Thompson (Port Talbot), C J Haggett (Bridgwater), E H Hamilton (Plympton), J D Horler (Exmouth), K B Szymanski (Swansea), D J Goodey (Plymouth), E W O Middleton, S O Read (both Exeter), A J Small (Sandford), M P Skeemer, B A Beaumont (both Cornwood).

Umpires: Ben Peverall, Paul Sparshott

Scorers Dave Eggins & Lynne Whitfield.