CCB Office 01872 267138  |  Centre 01872 267138

Email CDM Joe Skinner  |  Email Centre Bookings

Truro win Sixes KO Cup

23rd December 2017 Posted in Cricket Centre by Michael Weeks

Truro claim Indoor Cup


The CCB Indoor Sixes Knockout Cup winners this year are Truro who, a little surprisingly, had a very comfortable win over former champions St Austell in the final.  The city men put up a decent total of 109 for 5, leaving the match well poised.  Tim Marrion’s 40 was the crucial innings and Chris Harris did the most damage for St Austell, taking three for 31.  Losing three early wickets, the task became an uphill one for the Saints and their much changed side was eventually dismissed for just 53.

Earlier, the semi-finals got off to a cracking start, as St Austell came from behind to overhaul Redruth Rams’ 113 for 5.  With only 43 from the first 5 overs, the task looked a difficult one, but brothers Alex (31*) and Gary (27*) Bone made light work of stepping up the scoring rate and the match was won with seven balls to spare.  George Bolland, 33, and Peter Howells, who made 38 not out, both impressed for Redruth.  The whole contest was a step up from the earlier rounds and made for exciting cricket, with sharp fielding and run outs aplenty.  In the second game, Truro posted 110-2 against Falmouth, who lost wickets regularly and, consequently, never got going.  Grant Stone ploughed a lone furrow, scoring 48, with no-one else in double-figures.  Rob Harrison (27*), Adrian Noott (26*) and Charlie Kent (25*) batted well for Truro.


The Plate Final was won by St Austell 2, whose 128 for 4 proved too much for Ladock on the day, with 34 runs separating the teams at the end.  Matt Butler scored a hard-hitting 44 for Ladock, but it was the team effort of St Austell’s and their batting in particular, with four men scoring 24 or 25 not out which won the match.  The young quartet of Rory Dixon, Tom Harris, Ryan Bate and Tom Rosevear all batted well and deserved their success.


Results: Cup Semi-Finals – Redruth Rams 113-5, St Austell 1  114-2 (St Austell 1 won by 4 wickets); Truro 110-2, Falmouth 80 (Truro won by 30 runs).  Final – Truro 109-5, St Austell 1  53 (Truro won by 56 runs).

Plate Final – St Austell 2  128-4, Ladock 94 (St Austell 2 won by 34 runs).

Fixtures: The 2017-18 League gets underway on Sunday January 7 and runs every week until March 25.