CCB Office 01872 267138  |  Centre 01872 267138

Email CCO Joe Skinner  |  Email Centre Bookings

CSCA History


Presidents Chairmen Vice-Chairmen
(Secretary of Education) 1956 J.P. Bidgood 1958 J. Bulled
1956 J.G. Harries 1967 W.H. Harvey 1959 W.H. Harvey
1974 K. Cruise 1968 A.T. Hudson 1967 A.T. Hudson
1983 N.W. Barr 1975 B.G. Edwards 1968 E.B. Butling
1989 D.W. Fryer 1976 A.J.D. Aldwinckle 1972-73 E.M. Frazier
1994 J. Harris 1989 A.H. Pollard 1981 A.H. Pollard
(Director of Education, Arts and Libraries) 2004 L.G. Driver 1989 C.A. Lovell
2003 G. Aver 2008

2018 –

N.L. Sanders

T R Marrion

1996 L.G. Driver
(Corporate Director for Children, Schools & Families   2004 J.H. Eddy
2006 -09   D. Ashton     2006 B.G. Harrison
2011 – T. Doughty     2008


T.R. Marrion

C Richards






Asst. Secretaries

1956 A.W. Smith 1956 A.W. Smith 1972-73 F.S. Shepherd
1960 F.S. Shepherd 1977 I.B. Lawton 1977-80 C.A. Lovell
1972 N. Haley 1978 J.C. Dowsett 1982-86 G. Stephens
1973 F.S. Shepherd 1987 B.J. Dell Coaching
1976 C.A. Lovell 1995 F.T. Barker 1985 W.G. Glen
1977 – T.M. Broad, MBE 2012


2018 –

R. Thomas

T M Broad, MBE

R.G. Harrison

1991 W.M. Buzza
Primary 1994 G. Bridger
Records 1980           C.A. Lovell 1998 P. Bolland
1985 M.G. Mitchell 1984-87 R.J. Martin 2009 – 18 C. Richards
1995 I.D. Clarke 1989 Mrs G. White
2000 – M.A. Weeks 1990 B.G. Harrison Vice –Presidents
2008 -10 R. Shrewsbury 2000-2005 Mrs J. Driver


1986  Clifton ‘Jack’ Richards –  England Test debut v Australia at Brisbane 14th November

1985    Chris Lovell – England South  – 6th International Youth Tournament in Bermuda won by England North (including Mike Atherton)

1991    Chris Lovell – England Amateur XI v Scotland at Gateshead Fell

2000    Laura Harper – England Women debut v South Africa at Worcester 1st July


UNDER 19 UNDER 17 1994 (B) Ryan Driver
1983 Martin Roberts 1988 Piran Holloway 1996 (A) Chris Hunkin
1984 Martin Roberts UNDER 16 1997 Carl Gazzard
1996 David Roberts 1993 David Roberts 1998 (A) Jason Hall
1997 Ryan Driver UNDER 15 1999 (A) Adam Barber
2000 Carl Gazzard 1984 Malcolm Pooley    
2002 Neil Edwards 1985 Anthony Penberthy UNDER 14
2004 Michael Munday 1986 Piran Holloway 1991 Duncan Ayres
2012 Tom Rowe 1989 Jonathan Kent 1991 David Roberts


Tom Shrewsbury

Lewis Goldsworthy

1992 Duncan Ayres 1995 Chris Hunkin
ENGLAND WOMEN ‘A’ & UNDER 19 1992 David Roberts 1996 Carl Gazzard
1999 Laura Harper 1993 (B) Tom Sharp 1998 Adam Barber
1994 Gavin Edwards    


1956           A.W. (Archie) Smith called a meeting to form the C.S.C.A at County Hall on 21st January.     The first game was on the 4th July when the Under 15’s played Devon at Liskeard.  The Under 15s are the only representative age team (playing on average 3 or  4 games each season) until  the late 70’s.  Tommy Matthews becomes the first Cornwall schools Representative player  –  South v North  at Manchester.

1960           Caps & Blazar badges were awarded for the first time.

1962           Nigel Cock of Penzance scored 82* v Bristol – a record that stood for 13 years.

1963           Somerset are bowled out for 24 at Langport.  Alan Watts takes 5-15

1965           Hampshire make their first visit.  Malcolm Dunstan, a player  that day, was the first Schools  player to go on to play First Class Cricket

1969            Richard Hurrell of St. Austell wins the first ESCA (West Region) Cap as S W Region enters the ESCA Festival.

1970           I.T. Botham hits a rapid 71* in an 88 run stand with P. J. Roebuck for  Somerset Under 15s

1973           Clifton ‘Jack’ Richards plays for Cornwall Schools – 13 years before an England Cap.

1974           Under 15 and 13 School Cup competitions are introduced

1975           Keith Meneer’s  89 v Devon breaks the individual batting record

1976           Under 16 and Under 14 School Cup competitions are introduced

1977           The Under 15’s complete 3 unbeaten seasons (14 games).  Nigel Gough becomes first Schools  player to take 9 wickets in an innings

1978           Under 11 and 13 County Teams introduced

1979           Under 16 County team introduced

1980           Under 14 County team introduced.   Regular use of club grounds now made for games.  Winter    coaching programme expanded to the U13 to U17 age groups.  Presentation Evening introduced.

1981           Under 17 County team introduced. First Handbook produced.

Sean Hooper scores first School’s century – 106* v Devon

1983           Under 12 County team introduced – teams now at all age groups

1985           Stephen Kemp performs the first hat-trick  bowling the first 3 Hampshire U 12’s

1986           Clifton “Jack” Richards makes a century (2nd inns) on  England Test  debut v Australia

1987           Jonathan  Kent first  player to do the double of 500 runs & 50 wkts in a season

1989           David Roberts is the first player to score 1000 runs in a season (U13’s/U12’s)

1990           Stephen Gay hits the first  double hundred  (Under 14’s at the Durham Festival)

1992           The Association plays the 1000th County match since its formation.

1994           ESCA introduce Under 15 County Championship and Cornwall reach the Final to lose to Yorkshire.

1995           First tour (U14) to South Africa. U15s  reach County Championship S- Finals again losing to Yorkshire.

1997           Under 15s lose ESCA County Championship  Final to Lancashire by  just 14 runs.

1998          First tour to New Zealand.  School’s handbook incorporated into the Cornwall Cricket Yearbook. Under 16’s win both their County Championship, beating Norfolk, and for the first time                      the Jersey Festival.

1999           Under 15’s win all 11 games but fail to reach Championship final due to an abandoned game

2000          Association Secretary Malcolm Broad awarded the MBE in the New Year’s Honours list.

Laura Harper makes her England Women’s debut v South Africa and plays in the World Cup in New Zealand . Under 10 County team introduced

Under 15’s reach the National Semi-Finals after winning all 6 group games

2002          Matt Robins (187) and Jack Brighouse (61) put on a record 285 for U 12’s first wicket v Netherlands

2003            Under 13’s and under 17’s Tour of South Africa takes in the World Cup Final

2004           Tony Pollard retires after 26 years as an Association official of which the last 15 have been as Chairman

2005           CSCA celebrate Golden Jubilee & ESCA Bunbury Festival is staged in Cornwall.

Under 16’s finish 3rd in National Finals played at Haileybury College, Hertfordshire.

2006           Under 12’s, 13’s & Under 15 Girls all win their respective King’s College, Taunton Festivals.

2008           Brian Harrison retires after 29 years service to the CSCA

2009           Under 14 team win the King’s College Festival at Taunton.

2010           Under 17’s and Under 15’s both reach National semi-finals.

2011           First Under 15 Tour to the West Indies. Under 17’s reach National semi-finals.

John Platts retires after 50 years as CSCA player & Manager.

Terry Barker retires having managed since 1973 and held the post of Treasurer since 1995.

2012           Under 17’s & Under 15’s lose National Finals. Tours to S Africa, Sri Lanka & West Indies a first.

2014           Girls U 13’s win all 7 ECB games

2018          Nigel Sanders retires after 10 years as CSCA Chairman