CCB Office 01872 267138  |  Centre 01872 267138

Email CDM Joe Skinner  |  Email Centre Bookings

Perranporth retain the Andrew Cup

7th August 2019 Posted in Cups by Michael Weeks

Homepage / History

Perranporth retained the Dawe Insurance Andrew Cup in a high scoring final at Mount Ambrose CC

St Ives made 159 for 9 and Perranporth replied with 160 for 4, to win by six wickets with seven balls to spare.

A third win in four years for the ‘Pilchards’.

Andrew Cup Winners 2019 – Perranporth CC


Dawe Insurance Andrew Cup Final

Mount Ambrose – St Ives 159-9 (A McKenna 81, S McKenna 25, J Shaw 20; Ty Murrell 2-13, J Smeaden 2-26) lost to

Perranporth 160-4 (G Kerry 36, Ty Murrell 36, H Watkins 32, J Hall 26) by six wickets with seven balls to spare.

The Bunny Williams Man of the Match – Tyler Murrell.

Harry Watkins receives the Andrew Cup from CCL’s Robert Jobson


Alex McKenna batted through the St Ives innings to make 81 before being run out in the last over.

10 came off the first over and 19 off a 12 ball second over.

It was 43 for 1 off 4 overs and 82 off ten.

However only three singles were conceded off overs 13/14/15.

Then in a strong finish 45 were hit off the last three overs including 5 sixes.

In reply Perranporth had 50 on the board in 6 overs.

The hundred came up at the end of the 14th over.

They needed 35 off 4 overs, 24 off three and  15 off two.

A no ball hit for six and a boundary from Ty Murrell won the game off the fifth ball of the penultimate over.