CCB Office 01872 267138  |  Centre 01872 267138

Email CCO Joe Skinner  |  Email Centre Bookings

Former Cornwall Player disappointed by O50’s World Cup Cancellation

16th March 2020 Posted in County Club and Latest and Over 50's by Michael Weeks

A familiar player in Cornwall in the 1980’s has been disappointed by the sudden cancellation of the Over 50’s World Cup in Capetown due to the Cornonavirus situation.

Julian Charles was a member of the West Indies team and played against Canada on Sunday but the match was abandoned mid innings 

Julian played for Helston, Hayle and Roche  Cricket Clubs in the Cornwall League.

He played eight games for Cornwall CCC  in 1985 scoring 231 runs at 19.25 and took 10 wickets at 39.60.



Julian Desmond Charles (born 3 May 1961) is a former Saint Lucian cricketer who played for the Windward Islands in West Indian domestic cricket. He was the first Saint Lucian to score a first-class hundred.

A right-handed middle-order batsman and occasional leg spin bowler, Charles made his first-class debut for the Windwards during the 1982–83 Shell Shield season.[1] He scored his maiden first-class century during the 1985–86 season (114 against Guyana),[2] having earlier spent the 1985 English season playing for Cornwall in the Minor Counties Championship.[3] At the beginning of the 1986–87 season, Charles was selected to tour Zimbabwe with a “West Indies B” team, playing both first-class and limited-overs fixtures. In a three-day match against the Zimbabwe Cricket Union President’s XI, he made what was to be his highest first-class score, 185 runs from third in the batting order.[4] Charles continued playing for the Windwards up until the 1991–92 season, but passed fifty only three times in his last five seasons.[5]

Since the conclusion of his playing career, he has filled several administrative roles, including serving as both a director and chairman of selectors of the Windward Islands Cricket Board of Control, and as a director of the West Indies Cricket Board.[6] He was elected President of the Saint Lucia National Cricket Association in 2009, and was re-elected in 2011, 2013, and 2015.