CCB Office 01872 267138  |  Centre 01872 267138

Email CCO Joe Skinner  |  Email Centre Bookings

Team News

The 2020 Season is suspended until further notice – 24 April Update.

Unicorns Counties Championship

 Devon v Cornwall at Exeter CC on  Sunday 1 September 10.30 am  

Cornwall has made changes from the team that drew with Berkshire at St Austell with the return of five regulars.

Acting skipper Scott Harvey comes back along with Penzance teammates Greg Smith and Tom Wells.

They all played for Penzance in the National T20 quarter-final at Cranleigh, which clashed with the last championship game.

The Werrington pair of former county captain Matt Robins and opening bowler Tom Dinnis also return, having been unavailable for the game at Wheal Eliza due to work and injury respectively.

Tim Wyatt and Dan Lello, who were both called up for seasonal debuts against  Berkshire, retain their places.

Toby Whiteford, Mark Gribble, Aidan Libby, Alex Bone and Ellis Whiteford make way.


S A Harvey (Capt) (wk)

C J Kent

T R Wyatt

M L Robins

G M Smith

T J Wells

C B F Purchase

J R Turpin

C D  Lello

A C Libby

T J Dinnis

12 J M Brierley

Cornwall: Scott Harvey (Capt, wk), Greg Smith, Tom Wells (all Penzance), Matt Robins, Tom Dinnis (both Werrington), Christian Purchase (Redruth), James Turpin (Wadebridge), Charlie Kent, Tim Wyatt, Andrew Libby (all Truro), Dan Lello (St Just). 12 Joel Brierley (Truro)

Devon (from): P D Trego (Weston), J E Burke (Plymouth), M W Thompson (St Fagans), M Pugh (Torquay), M P Skeemer (Cornwood), H M Whitlock, T J R Codd (both Bovey Tracey), E W O Middleton (Exeter), L F O Bess (Sidmouth), A J Causey (Bovey Tracey), H C B Ward (Paignton), D J Goodey (Plymouth).

Umpires: N Piddock & P Evans

Scorer D G Eggins


SIDMOUTH’S Luke Bess has been called into the Devon side for the crunch game with Cornwall starting at Exeter on Sunday (10.30am).

Bess gets the nod as a batting replacement for brother Zac, who has to work during the game and is unable to get time off.

Peter Trego, who is dual registered with Devon and Somerset this season, will skipper the side.

Availability problems have plagued Devon all season – and even the captain is not immune. Alex Barrow, Zac Bess and Jamie Stephens have all skippered the side in the previous five games, making Trego the fourth captain in the same season.

Exeter leg-spinner Ed Middleton has been recalled to the side after missing the last two matches. Keeper-batter Matt Thompson also returns after a two-match absence.

Swing-bowling all-rounder Matt Skeemer returns to the side having missed the eight-wicket win over Oxfordshire at Sidmouth, in which Barrow scored a hundred in both innings.

Spinner Jamie Stephens is work tied, so is keeper-batter George Allen, and classroom commitments rule out Jamie Baird and Ben Beaumont.

Devon go into the game sixth in the Western Division table and in need of a win to climb into the top five. They trail Wiltshire by a point.

The significance of finishing in the top five is qualification for the new Western Division One in a new-look competition with promotion and relegation from 2020 onwards.

Devon’s team management is anxious to avoid a place in Division Two.



Official CCCC statement (5/7/19):  “Cornwall Captain Matthew Rowe is not being considered for selection for the rest of the season due to the failure of trust between himself and the selection committee”.