CCB Office 01872 267138  |  Centre 01872 267138

Email CDM Joe Skinner  |  Email Centre Bookings

Cornwall CCC AGM Report

5th March 2019 Posted in County and Latest by Michael Weeks

held at the Cornwall Cricket Centre on Tuesday 5 March 2019

AGM Notice

All Officers & Committee re-elected.

Linda Cobbledick, Margaret Ireland and Vice Captain (Scott Harvey) co-opted to the General Committee.

Cornwall CCC AGM Report 2019

At the 2019 Annual Meeting of Cornwall County Cricket Club, held at the Cornwall Cricket Centre, Truro, captain Matthew Rowe was re-elected unopposed for a second term.

The meeting began by remembering the lives of two former Club Presidents, Julain Willaims CBE and the Rev’d Canon Ken Rogers, who have both passed away since the beginning of the year.


In presenting the committee report on the 2018 season Club Chairman Michael Williams reflected on a season of fine weather. In the championship there were mixed fortunes with two wins, two defeats and two draws, to finish fourth. In the new T20 competition five of the eight games were won but it was only enough to come second in the group behind Devon. Dorset was beaten by seven wickets in the Knock Out Trophy preliminary round before a first-round defeat away to Berkshire. Mr Williams concluded by reminding members with a change to two-divisional championship cricket agreed for 2020 a top-five place in 2019 takes on greater importance. At a recent meeting, the Minor Counties ratified that they will be known as ‘National Counties’ in 2020.


In the Championship, 25 players played in the six games with debuts for ten players. Will Harris, Charlie Kent, Piran Kent, Daniel Lello, Jack Paull, Nathan Pobega, Tommy Sturgess, Peter Trego, Sam Wood and Sam Wyatt.  Two players – Paul Smith and Tom Dinnis were capped. Smith made 282 runs at an average of 47.00 and professional Sam Wood 455 runs at 37.91. Matt Rowe hit 251 runs, Tom Rowe 284 and Jake Libby 209 for once out in two innings. Centuries were hit by Jake Libby (142), and Sam Wood (102).  Andrew Libby was again the leading wicket-taker for the third season with 31 wickets at 19.64 each. Tom Dinnis and Matt Rowe took 24 wickets each. Will Harris with 6-47 produced the best figures of the season. Matt Rowe and Tom Dinnis both had three five-wicket championship hauls.

In his financial report Treasurer Keith Hore reported a deficit of £6,170 on the year. An increase in professional’s fees and match expenses were the main factors. There was an increase in sponsorship and donations, however. He thanked sponsors ‘The Accommodation Bureau’and accountants Lang Bennetts for their long and continued support, which is greatly appreciated.

The Arthur Lugg Cup, for outstanding services, was awarded to former Development XI Manager Sean Hooper. The Canynge Caple Cup, for the outstanding player, was won by Matthew Rowe along with the Donald Cocks Cup for fielding. The Caerhays Cup, for the highest partnership of the season, was won by Jake Libby and Paul Smith for their stand of 146 against Devon.   The Canynge Caple Colts Cup and the Ron Tither Memorial Cup for Under 21 bowling were both won by Tom Dinnis.


Elections: President – EG Willcock; Chairman – JM Williams, FRICS, DL; Hon. Secretary – Mrs Anita George MBE, JP; Hon Treasurer – RK  Hore JP; Captain – MH Rowe; Team Sec / Manager – GR Furse.


Cornwall CCC Fixtures 2019

Unicorns T20 Competition (11.00am)

Sun 5 May                   Wiltshire (2 games)                  Werrington

Sun 26 May                 Wales MC (2 games)                Wadebridge

Sun 9 June                   Dorset (2 games)                      Wimborne

Sun 16 June                 Devon (2 games)                     Instow


Unicorns Knock Out Trophy (11.00am)

Sun 2 June                   Buckinghamshire                     Truro

Sun 30 June (QF)         Winner v Berkshire or Dorset  away


Unicorns Counties Championship (11.00am unless stated)

23-25 June                   Oxfordshire                             Truro

7-9 July                                   Wiltshire                                  Corsham

21-23 July                   Shropshire                               Bridgnorth

4-6 August                   Dorset                                      Redruth

18-20 August               Berkshire                                 St Austell

1-3 Sept                       Devon                                      Exeter  (10.30am)