CCB Office 01872 267138  |  Centre 01872 267138

Email CDM Joe Skinner  |  Email Centre Bookings

Cornwall v Wiltshire Unicorns T20

5th May 2019 Posted in County Club by Michael Weeks

Cornwall v Wiltshire at Werrington CC

Match 1 Cornwall won by 12 runs       Match 2 Wiltshire won by 2 runs.

Cornwall got off to a brisk start with skipper Matt Rowe getting 52 off 31 balls before being dismissed in the ninth over. Tom Wells made 54 on debut to get the total to 173-7. Jack Haines (40) and Neil Clark (32) got Wiltshire to 118-5 off 13 overs. Bradley Dawson (25) got the target down to 25 off three overs. Wells only conceded two runs in the 18th over.  In the next Matt Rowe took wickets with successive balls and a run out followed to effectively seal the victory.

Werrington – Cornwall 173-7 (TJ Wells 54, MH Rowe 52; JB Lintott 2-25, T Afridi 2-27), Wiltshire 161-9 (JO Haines 40, NJ Clark 32, BC Dawson 25, ECG Young 23; MH Rowe 2-19, TJ Wells 2-31). Cornwall (2pts) beat Wiltshire (nil) by 12 runs.


Wiltshire were restricted to 147-6 in the second game with Dawson getting 39 not out after they had been 89-6. Slow left armer Lewis Goldsworthy had excellent figures of 4-1-18-3. Christian Purchase made 34 in the reply but Cornwall were up against it at 78-7  off 13 overs after Jake Lintott took 4-18. However, Goldsworthy (47) and Scott Harvey (25no) reduced the requirement to 13 off the last over. Goldsworthy hit a six off the first ball from Arthur Godsal but only four came from the next four deliveries and with three required off the last the England Under 19 player holed out with a skier to cover point.


Werrington – Wiltshire 147-6 (BC Dawson 39, J Goodwin 23; LP Goldsworthy 3-18, GM Smith 2-23), Cornwall 145-8 (LP Goldsworthy 47, CBF Purchase 34, SA Harvey 25no; JB Lintott 4-18. ABF Godsal 2-35). Wiltshire (2pts) beat Cornwall (nil) by two runs.



Cornwall v Wiltshire T20 Preview
Cornwall start their Unicorns T20 campaign on Sunday with a doubleheader against Wiltshire at Werrington (11 am).

Having narrowly missed out on topping the group last season, and reaching finals day, skipper Matt Rowe is looking forward to the challenge. He said this week ”We have strength in the side and we’re looking forward to a competitive and successful white ball season.”

There is a fresh look to the squad with Penzance’s Greg Smith the new professional/coach. Set to make his debut is Tom Wells, who has joined Penzance this year from Leicestershire. The 26-year-old, son of the former Leicester Tigers rugby captain and coach, John Wells, came through the youth system at Grace Road and played 17 first class and 94 List A and T20 games in a six-year period from 2012.

Redruth’s hard-hitting Christian Purchase is also included having returned to the team for the final game last season. His clubmate Will Harris is also named in the squad. He produced the best bowling figures of the season with his 6-47 in his debut appearance at Banbury. England Under 19 and Somerset Academy’s Lewis Goldsworthy is selected and last year’s Cornwall young bowler of the year Tom Dinnis will look to impress on his home patch.

Wadebridge all-rounder James Turpin has made a fine start to the season and the batting will be led by brothers Matt and Tom Rowe and youngster Jack Paull who made a half-century on debut at the end of last season and Werrington’s Mark Gribble who won a player of the match award last Saturday at Wadebridge. Vice-captain and wicket-keeper batsman Scott Harvey makes up a quartet of Penzance representatives. He topped the Cornwall Premier League Batting Averages in each of the last two seasons.

Cornwall from: MH Rowe (Capt) (Henley-on-Thames), SA Harvey (wk), GS Smith, TJ Wells, JA Paull (all Penzance), TC Rowe (Kimberley Institute), CBF Purchase, WG Harris (both Redruth), LP Goldsworthy (St Just), JR Turpin (Wadebridge), MH Gribble, TJ Dinnis (both Werrington).

Wiltshire from: EGC Young (Capt), TI Morton (wk), JO Haines, J Goodwin, NJ Clark, JB Lintott, BC Dawson, TG Afridi, ABF Godsal, LA Evans, JM King, M Burton.

Umpires R Allen & N Piddock

Scorers: Dave Eggins & John Gale