CCB Office 01872 267138  |  Centre 01872 267138

Email CDM Joe Skinner  |  Email Centre Bookings

Cheshire beat Cornwall by 10 wkts

21st June 2017 Posted in County Club by Michael Weeks

Cornwall lost their Unicorns Counties Championship game with Cheshire at Nantwich yesterday by ten wickets.

After resuming on 165-5 Cornwall were eventually bowled out for 235 with Adrian Noott making 90, after a marathon innings of five hours.

It left Cheshire requiring 44 to win which they knocked off without loss at three o’clock.

Cornwall are next in action on Sunday morning at Truro in the Treleavens T20 County Cup with games in the triangular tournament against Devon and Somerset.

Nantwich – Cornwall 208 (BL Wadlan 101, SA Harvey 43; CJ White 5-42) & 235 (AD Noott 90, AJ Hodgson 34, ML Robins 31; HJ Killoran 3-71). Cheshire 400 (TL Robinson 94, C Rowe 89, WJ Evans 77, WA White 40; ML Robins 4-18, TJ Dinnis 3-86) & 44-0 (C Rowe 28no).  Cheshire (24pts) beat Cornwall (5pts) by ten wickets.

Cornwall have made a couple of changes for their trip to Nantwich to play Cheshire in round two of the Unicorns Counties Championship on Sunday.

From the original selected team  Greg Smith has withdrawn due to the pending birth of his first child and Chris Roberts due to work. They are replaced by Scott Harvey who returns from injury and will keep wicket and Daniel Jarman.  Matt & Tom Rowe are unavailable due to work from the team that played at Berkshire. Brad Wadlan and Lewis Goldsworthy return to the squad. Wadlan was unavailable in the last game due to Penzance’s participation in the Royal London Club Championship. Left arm spinner Lewis Goldsworthy is also added to a twelve man squad. The sixteen year old missed out on the trip to Berkshire due to his studies. He had previously played in all four Trophy games.

Cornwall  (from): ML Robins (Capt), (Werrington), AD Noott (Truro), BL Wadlan (Penzance), DBW Jarman (Keynsham), MH Gribble (Werrington),  AJ Hodgson (Werrington), SA Harvey (Truro (wk), JR Turpin (Werrington), TJ Dinnis (Werrington), AS Ridd (Grampound Road), AC Libby (St Austell), LP Goldsworthy (Troon).

Cheshire: LF Dixon (Capt) (Chester Boughton Hall) , C Rowe (Alderley Edge), DN Leech (Oulton Park), RAL Moore (Chester Boughton Hall), WA White (Leek), TL Robinson (Nantwich), WJ Evans (wk) (Neston), AD Clarke (New Brighton), JJ Williams (Chester Boughton Hall), HJ Killoran (Chester Boughton Hall), CJ White (Timperley).