CCB Office 01872 267138  |  Centre 01872 267138

Email CCO Joe Skinner  |  Email Centre Bookings

CCL Clubmark Statement

20th November 2019 Posted in League by Michael Weeks

Cornwall Cricket League Statement November 2019 – ECB Clubmark

‘ECB Clubmark’ is an accreditation scheme for cricket clubs and is licensed from Sport England as part of their wider Clubmark scheme.

ECB Clubmark shows that a club is sustainable, well run and provides the right environment for its members. Clubmark accreditation also means your club is recognised as a safe, rewarding and fulfilling place for participants of all ages, as well as assuring parents and carers that they are choosing the right option for their young people.

At the 2014 League AGM it was passed: (From 2015, for season 2016) In addition to the ECB-stipulated conditions for clubs playing in the Premier League, those playing in Division 1 shall be subject to the following criteria –  ECB CLUBMARK ACCREDITATION.


However, there was a delay in its implementation so the heading ‘From 31 October 2017’ was added to Rule 21.2.3 below at the AGM in January 2016.

The Premier & County 1 clubs forum in September 2017 advised the LMC that they  “should administer” these rules as published.

Ludgvan and St Minver CC’s were therefore subsequently demoted for failing to comply with Clubmark by 31st October 2017.    click

The current League Rules regarding Clubmark remain as follows:


21.2        Clubmark

21.2.1    All clubs competing in the Premier League and County Division 1 must have previously achieved and currently hold the ECB Clubmark Accreditation or its equivalent replacement.

21.2.2    No club will be promoted to County Division 1 unless they already hold ECB Clubmark  Accreditation or its equivalent replacement.

21.2.3    Any Premier League or County Division 1 club not holding Clubmark Accreditation or its equivalent replacement will be relegated with immediate effect.

21.2.4     Any club whose Clubmark or equivalent replacement expires in any season must achieve reaccreditation by 31 October that year. Failure to do so will result in the relegation of the club for the next season.

21.2.5    A club relegated from the Premier League to Division 1 as a consequence 21.2.3 or 21.2.4 must achieve accreditation in Clubmark or its equivalent replacement by 31 October in the next year or be relegated to Division 2 for the following season.

21.2.6    Any Club relegated in accordance with rule 21.2.3 or 21.2.4 will not be eligible for any promotions or prize monies for any of its lower teams for the current season.


The Cornwall Cricket League has received the final list of ECB Clubmark accredited clubs from Cornwall Cricket Board’s Cricket Development Manager Joe Skinner following the 31st October 2019 deadline.


Unfortunately, Troon Cricket Club did not receive the required accreditation.  In accordance with Rule 21.2.3 the LMC have confirmed Troon CC will, therefore, be relegated from County Division 1 for the 2020 season.


As per League Rule Launceston CC have therefore been reprieved relegation from County Division 1.


As one east team and one west team will now be relegated from County Division 1 promotion and relegation in other divisions will be 2 up and 2 down as per Rule 5.1.9.


The result of the recent epostal ballot to increase Tier 3 to 12 teams will result in a necessary reformatting in the lowest divisions.


The following 13 clubs were reaccredited on the three-year Clubmark cycle by 31 October 2019:

Beacon CC, Bude North Cornwall CC, Callington CC, Camborne CC, Hayle CC, Helston CC, Launceston CC,

Paul CC, Redruth CC, Roche CC, Rosudgeon CC, Stithians CC, Werrington CC.


League Management Committee


2018 Clubmark Reaccreditation

Cornwall Cricket has a full house of Clubs who achieved Clubmark Accreditation in 2018.

13 clubs in all to achieve this year, and 19 with their Annual Health Checks, well done to all the volunteers in your respective clubs for completing this process which shows a level of high quality in youth cricket and club management!!

The clubs:
Falmouth CC / Gorran CC / Grampound Rd CC / Lanhydrock CC / Ludgvan CC / Menheniot CC / Mullion CC / Newquay CC / Penzance CC / St Austell CC / St Just CC / Truro CC / Wadebridge CC