Prima Bakeries Prima Bakeries ECB Clubmark

Prima Bakeries

Prima Bakeries

ECB Clubmark

Child Friendly Environment

Clubmark Homepage

Mar 23, 2017


Former Glamorgan Head Groundsman Len Smith was the Guest Speaker
Category: Latest
Posted by: mikew






The Cornwall Association of Cricket Groundsmen AGM was held at the Cricket Centre on Wednesday March 22nd. The main officers were all re-elected.


In 2016 the Groundsman of The Year Award, along with trophies to those who have provided Long Service to their Clubs were introduced.


The 2017 Award Winners were 


Groundsman of the Year - Jamie Stevens Penzance CC


Long Service Awards presented by Director of Cricket Chris Leathley

 David Phillips - St Ives CC


Brian Pearce - Grampound Road CC


John Trethewey Lanhydrock CC


 Ian Trundley - Tideford CC


Tony Greaves - North Cornwall (Bude) CC


John Shepley - Menheniot Looe CC



The CACG have recently purchased a Blec Cultipack Seeder, a video of the machine can ve viewed here Blec Seeder 

The CACG would encourage all Clubs, who may have lack of germination on their ends to take advantage of this.


 Guest Speaker Len Smith.

Len is presently The Institute of Groundsmanships representative in Wales and was, prior to his retirement, Head Groundsman at Glamorgan and was responsible for bringing their ground up to Test Match Level. He gave a talk on the preparation and maintenance of strips  and also the use of the Blec Seeder, a machine of which he has great experience.


It is true to say that many of the volunteers presently are increasing in age and the CACG wish to encourage younger members of clubs to take up these tasks, and will be arranging courses, for those who might be interested, in both September 2017 and April 2018, within the county.







Quick Links






Contact Us


Cornwall Cricket Board Ltd Office , Fal Building,  College Road,  Truro,  Cornwall,  TR1 3XX.  Tel:  01872 267138