Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

Diamond Jubilee 1956 - 2016

Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

U 13's Wanderers, Johannesburg

Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

U 15's Kensington Oval, Barbados

Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

U12's & Jonny Bairstow, King's College, Taunton

Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

Presentation Evening, Ponsmere Hotel, Perranporth


Oct 4, 2015

CSCA Presentation Evening

Final Awards Evening at the Ponsmere Hotel, Perranporth.
Category: CSCA (Cornwall Schools)
Posted by: mikew




It was the end of an era at the 2015 Cornwall Schools’ Cricket Association’s Presentation Evening. The event was held for the final time at the Ponsmere Hotel at Perranporth. The venue has staged the annual celebration for thirty-two consecutive years since 1984. The hotel is due to be closed at the end of the month and is to be re-developed. Proprietor Peter Batchelor received a special presentation to mark the occasion from the Chairman of the English Schools’ Cricket Association (ESCA) Mike Spinks (pictured below).



The Chief Guest was the Somerset County Cricket Club all rounder Peter Trego. After making the presentations he gave a question and answer session. He reflected on a successful first class career, the highlight of which was appearing for England Lions. Born in Weston-super-mare he joined Somerset and played for England Under 19’s. He briefly played for Kent and Middlesex but he returned to his home county in 2006. In all competitions he’s made around 15,000 runs and taken 600 wickets. He also reflected on a brief spell with Callington in the Jolly’s Drinks ECB Cornwall Premier League.


The Association’s General Secretary, Malcolm Broad MBE, reported another good year with some outstanding performances but wet weather on some Sundays affected a number of fixtures.  


The Ted Collins Memorial Cup for the outstanding young cricketer in 2015 was awarded to Tom Dinnis.


Sophie Mackenzie and Emily Edgcombe were both selected for the Girls Under 19 England Development squad this winter.



The Jonathan Harris Shield for the highest innings against a County team in 2015 went to Sophie Mackenzie for her 119 against Gloucestershire.


The One & All Shield for best bowling performance of the year went to Tom Dinnis for his 6-8 against the Isle of Wight in the Under 17’s ECB Championship.


The Under 15 girls won their ECB Performance Group and all the squad were presented with commemorative certificates to mark the achievement: Amber Cummins, Jess Harris, Katie Ashburn, Jordan Barkway, Alice Bebb, Bronwyn Casterton, Izzy Grant-French, Beth Hosking, Lauren Hartley, Lara Hannings, Rebecca Odgers, Aimee Phillips, Emma Richardson, Eve Rosevear, Amelia Ryan and Millie Sweet.


Other Individual Awards were presented to:

Under 10’s: Alfie Macdonald, Nathan Roberts.

Under 11’s: Jarrod Hambly, Will Jenkin, Joe Phillips.

Under 12’s: Jake Symons, Jacob Macdonald, Ben French

Under 13’s:  Cameron Bishop, Archie Pascoe, Callum Edgcombe.

Girls Under 13’s: Ellie Mitchell, Rebecca Trew, Rebecca Odgers.

Under 14’s:  Lewis Goldsworthy, Alex Pascoe, Matthew Bray

Under 15’s: Alex Bone, Piran Kent, Josh Murray-Duston, Tom Orpe.

Girls Under 15’s: Alice Bebb, Millie Sweet, Amber Cummins.

Under 17’s: Ross Leathley, Tom Dinnis, Jordan Thomas.

Girls Under 17’s: Sophie Mackenzie, Kellie Williams, Caitlin Burnett.

Long Service Award:  Jordan Thomas.

The Jimmy Richards Trophy to the “outstanding player” on the South Africa Tour – Charlie Kent.

The Edgarley Award for the best fielder in the Under 13 Team – Conway Gilbert.


The Jack Richards Trophy to the most promising wicketkeeper in any CSCA team – Alex Bone.







Quick Links






Contact Us


Cornwall Cricket Board Ltd Office , Fal Building,  College Road,  Truro,  Cornwall,  TR1 3XX.  Tel:  01872 267138