Cornwall Over 50's Cornwall Over 50's

Cornwall Over 50's

2016 Championship XI

Cornwall Over 50's

2016 East v West Trial

Cornwall Over 50's Homepage

Aug 4, 2015

Cornwall O50's beat Gloucestershire

 Quarter-Final Team News
Category: 50
Posted by: mikew



Cornwall O50's reached the ECB 50+ championship quarter final stage with a 58 run win over Gloucestershire at Lanhydrock on Sunday. Batting first on a track with some damp in it Cornwall openers Jim McKenna and Jon Nance added 54 in 13 overs before Nance was bowled for 18. Anton Luiten fell the same way for 11 with the score 98 before McKenna who made 84 and Alan Shears took the score to 137. McKenna became the first Cornwall player to pass 400 championship runs in a season. Shears and Andrew Jones then set about the bowling and added 90 in 12 overs with Shears collecting a 3rd fifty in 4 innings before falling for 51. Skipper Trevor Lee hit his 2nd and 3rd ball for six as he and Jones added a brisk 45 off the last 21 balls. Jones finished 70 not out off just 48 balls.


In reply Dave Dunnett struck early but the key blow was the removal of former Gloucestershire county captain and profile run scorer Tony Wright for 31, bowled by Stuart Renshaw in what was his first over of the season. Renshaw, Paul Clements and Steve Mitchell added further wickets to leave the visitors struggling at 111 for 6. A useful partnership between Johnson and Thorn took the score to 174 leaving 99 required from 8 overs. Johnson hit some lusty blows before being 9th out for 66 bowled by Clements. Jones completed the day stumping Edge of Clements who finished with 3-39. Renshaw took 3-18, Mitchell 2-32 with Dunnett and Ian Bishop picking up the other wickets.


Cornwall now play Hampshire at Grampound Road on Sunday for a place in the semi final


Lanhydrock - Cornwall 272-5 (J McKenna 84, A Jones 70no, A Shears 51),

Gloucestershire 214 (S Renshaw 3-18, P Clements 3-39, S Mitchell 2-32).

Cornwall beat Gloucestershire by 58 runs  Card


 The team for Sunday's Quarter Final v Hampshire at Grampound Road 1.30 start is an unchanged one so it lines up as follows :


Trevor Lee (capt) - Mullion

Jim McKenna - St Just

Jon Nance - Menheniot/ Looe

Anton Luiten - Tideford

Alan Shears - Crofty Holman

Andrew Jones - Callington

Stuart Renshaw - Perranporth

Paul Clements - South Petherwin

Ian Bishop - Truro

Steve Mitchell - Newquay

Dave Dunnett - Wadebridge








Quick Links






Contact Us


Cornwall Cricket Board Ltd Office , Fal Building,  College Road,  Truro,  Cornwall,  TR1 3XX.  Tel:  01872 267138