Cornwall Over 50's Cornwall Over 50's

Cornwall Over 50's

2016 Championship XI

Cornwall Over 50's

2016 East v West Trial

Cornwall Over 50's Homepage

Jul 12, 2015

Over 50's beat Channel Islands

Cornwall top the group with 6  out of 7.

Category: 50
Posted by: mikew




ECB 50+ County Championship

Cornwall O50s became ECB 50+ Group winners for the first time since 1990 following a narrow 7 run win over the Channel Islands at Grampound Road on Sunday.

Rain reduced the game to 30 overs and having been put in Cornwall had a rocky start with Jim McKenna and Anton Luiten both going cheaply. Nigel Sanders hit six boundaries in his 28 and after Andrew Jones fell for 10 Cornwall were 61 for 4. Alan Shears and Trevor Lee pushed the score to 90 but Lee's dismissal for 19 triggered two more quick wickets to leave the home side 108 for 7. Shears though went onto make an invaluable 68 not out and added 35 for the 8th wicket with Steve Mitchell and an unbroken 35 with Danny Gillman for the 9th wicket to steer Cornwall to 178 for 8.

In reply the Channel Islands were going well at 88 for 2 but 3 wickets for Mitchell and 2 for Mike Hoban left them on 136 for 7 with 5 overs remaining. Some lusty blows saw 14 needed with 2 wickets left off the last over from Paul Clements. A stumping and a run out finished the game with one ball to spare. Clements taking 2 for 36.

As group winners Cornwall are amongst the four seeded teams for the last 16 knockout stages which means a home tie against Gloucestershire on July 26th and if successful a home tie also in the quarter finals.


Grampound Rd – Cornwall 178-8 (A Shears 68no, N Sanders 28; M Saralis 3-31),

Channel Islands 171 (D Buxton 42; S Mitchell 3-28, P Clements 2-36, M Hoban 2-37).

Cornwall (4pts) beat the Channel Islands by seven runs in a match reduced to 30 overs. 

Scorecard    Table


Over 50s Homepage



With Dave Dunnett and John Dobson on the sidelines through injury and Jon Nance and Dave Craddock on holiday there are were changes from the team that beat Dorset with Steve Mitchell and Danny Gillman both returning.

The full team was :

       Trevor Lee (capt) - Mullion
       Jim McKenna - St Just

Nigel Sanders - Grampound Road
       Anton Luiten - Tideford

Andrew Jones - Callington
       Alan Shears - Crofty Holman
       Paul Clements - South Petherwin

Ian Bishop - Truro
       Steve Mitchell - Newquay
       Danny Gillman - Mullion
       Mike Hoban - Falmouth

12th men - Andrew Ellacott / Mike Conbeer (both Menheniot /Looe)


Team Manager - Stuart Ellis

Umpire - Roy Strout 
Scorer - Mike Gibbons

Quick Links






Contact Us


Cornwall Cricket Board Ltd Office , Fal Building,  College Road,  Truro,  Cornwall,  TR1 3XX.  Tel:  01872 267138