Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

Diamond Jubilee 1956 - 2016

Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

U 13's Wanderers, Johannesburg

Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

U 15's Kensington Oval, Barbados

Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

U12's & Jonny Bairstow, King's College, Taunton

Cornwall Schools' Cricket Association

Presentation Evening, Ponsmere Hotel, Perranporth


Oct 6, 2014

CSCA Presentation Evening

The 2014 Awards evening was held at Perranporth on Saturday 4 October.
Category: CSCA (Cornwall Schools)
Posted by: mikew


The former Yorkshire, Gloucestershire, Somerset and England Lions quick bowler Steve Kirby celebrated his 37th birthday as guest of honour at the Cornwall Schools’ Cricket Association’s annual presentation evening, held at Perranporth.

He gave an inspirational speech highlighting his own cricketing experiences, that had suffered early setbacks. He resurrected his career in 2001 by taking seven for 50 on his first-class debut for Yorkshire, at the age of 23. He went on to play an instrumental role that season in the county becoming champions for the first time in 33 years. After spells at Bristol and Taunton he announced his retirement earlier this year, after nineteen seasons,  due to injury.


The Association’s General Secretary, Malcolm Broad MBE, reported another good year with the weather enabling most of the match programme to be completed.  The Under 13 girls won all seven of their ECB Group games and all the squad were presented with commemorative certificates to mark the achievement. The Under 15 girls beat Devon and Somerset twice in two days and lost only one championship game.


The Ted Collins Memorial Cup for the outstanding young cricketer in 2014 was awarded to Sophie Mackenzie, of Bodmin College and Wadebridge CC.

 She was selected for the England Under 15 Girls Development squad and also played in the England Under 19’s Festival. She has recently been selected for the  Under 19 Development squad this winter. She also won the perpetual trophy for the highest score of the year, 138 not out  for the Girls’ Under 17’s v Kent.

Emily Edgcombe was also selected for the Under 15 Girls England Development Festival.


The best bowling performance of the year went to Jack Angove for his 7-55 against Wiltshire in the Under 17’s  ECB Championship.


Special Awards were also made to Tommy Sturgess and Tim Wyatt, who both played in the Under 15 Bunbury Festival at Oakham School in Rutland.


Other Individual Awards were presented to:

Under 10’s: Jarrod Hambly, Billy Channell, William Jenkin.

Under 11’s: Alex Barrett, Adam Snowdon.

Under 12’s: Charlie Kent, Josh Moses, Sam Richards.

Under 13’s:  Lewis Goldsworthy (batting inc 100no & bowling), Will Trenoweth.

Girls Under 13’s: Alice Bebb, Emily Becconsal, Amber Cummins.

Under 14’s:  Alex Bone, Alasdair Faull (5-23 & 6-30), Luke Brenton.

Under 15’s: Luc Lombard, Tommy Sturgess, Dylan Caddy.

Girls Under 15’s: Caitlin Burnett, Emily Edgcombe, Sophie Mackenzie, Charlotte Gilbert.

Under 17’s: James Turpin (133no), Liam Lombard (123), Jack Angove (7-55), Jordan Thomas (5-64)

Girls Under 17’s: Sophie Mackenzie (138no), Emily Penberthy (6-13), Emmie Blamey.

Long Service Awards:  Jack Angove, Callum Donnelly, Mark Gribble, Charlie Hoskings, Dan Lello, James Turpin.

The Jimmy Richards Trophy to the “outstanding player” on the South Africa Tour – Charlie Armstrong.

The Edgarley Award for the best fielder in the Under 13 Team – Charlie Armstrong.

 The Jack Richards Trophy to the most promising wicketkeeper in any CSCA team – Alex Bone.



Quick Links






Contact Us


Cornwall Cricket Board Ltd Office , Fal Building,  College Road,  Truro,  Cornwall,  TR1 3XX.  Tel:  01872 267138